Explore My News,
Thoughts & Inspiration

We Are Family

For many people the holidays are about celebrating with family of some sort. Last Christmas I didn’t get to be home with my family because plane tickets were really expensive, so it has been a blessing to get to be with them this year before I head out on the World Race (in 4 days!!!). I feel even more blessed that the people that I am going on the World Race with already feel like family!

I wanted to give my team members of Team Key Bearers a chance to introduce themselves to you all! This is going to be my family this year as we travel the world for Jesus! Feel free to follow their blogs and get another set of eyes of what is happening in my life and theirs!

My name is Amy Davis, I’m 27 years old and currently in Marysville, Washington but I’m originally from the country and grew up on a farm. My education background is a B.S. Biology/Marine Biology and M.S. Environmental Science. Science education and mission work are two of my passions and I’m hoping that this coming year those two things can merge together on the World Race. I’m adventurous and love to travel and experience new things. Some of my hobbies are crafting, reading, beach-combing, photography, and spending time in nature.

My name is Ariah Lynn Leemrey Limed! I am 21 years old and I am from Salem, OR! I love nature (which indeed does involve long walks on the beach), adventuring in big cities (portland is just like the show “portlandia”, and it makes for wonderful day trips), spending one on one time with people I love and adore, and board games that shouldn’t last nearly as long as they do. I’ve worked in my church as a youth leader for about 7 years and have become more and more excited about working with teenage girls and young woman! I’m passionate about seeing people set free by Jesus, and I’m stoked to see that happen in 11 different countries this next year.

I am a 23-year-old college graduate from Georgia Southern. I majored in psychology; so, yes I love to analyze everything. I love to write, and plan on writing my own book during the race. I thoroughly enjoy sports, and being from Atlanta I am constantly let down by all of our sports teams. Going to the movies is by far one of my favorite things to do. I love watching the creativity and imagination of others come to life on the big screen. I have an amazing family that consists of my mom, dad, and two brothers.
I have aspirations to work with broken people through counseling, or possibly even write for a living, but in all honesty I’m not sure what I want to do with the rest of my life, and that’s okay. All we have is right now. Currently, I’m a missionary, and I am so excited to see what lies ahead.

Hi I’m Bryce. I’m 21 years old and I am from Aledo, Texas. School is not really my thing. So with only two semester under my belt and not knowing what I want to do with my life I decided to go on the World Race. My passions are living my life for Christ and bettering my self for Him, I love working with children, and listening to about people’s life’s and where they came from. I can’t wait to see the world and everything that God made!

My name is Derek Shatto, 26 years old from Dillsburg, Pennsylvania! I’m a college graduate with a bachelors degree in youth ministry. I help run a skateboard ministry in Central PA called The Underground Skatepark and Youth Facility. I’ve used skateboarding and spoken word poetry to preach the Gospel of Jesus from coast to coast, and around the world! My heart is for all to experience the unconditional love that Jesus has for us, and encourage others to join Him in the big story He’s writing.

Hello! I am Heather Merrell. I am 31 years old and from Sunnyvale, California. I went to Anderson University and studied psychology (and unlike Austin I tend to analyze myself more than anyone/anything else). I then went to Argosy University in Chicago for my MA in counseling and didn’t finish because I realized that it wasn’t what I wanted to do! I have volunteered the past 2 years with the high school ministry at my church. I have a passion for women and teen girls especially when it relates to social justice. Some of my hobbies are writing, singing, cooking, adventure, traveling, and learning to play the mandolin. I am so excited for this next year to see what God is going to do in my, my team/squad, and the world around us!

My name is Tabitha Brown, I prefer to go by Tabbi. I am originally from Flagstaff, Arizona but currently reside in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Being from Arizona I adore being outside and have an adoration for nature. I graduated from Calvin College with my bachelors in nursing science and a few language minors. As an RN I love caring for people. I enjoy learning new things and have a passion for healing. Being an aunt of 15 nieces and nephews I have a soft spot for children and cannot seem to get enough of them; I love children and all that comes with them. It is my hope through this adventure God has called my team and I to that I/we can grow in an intimate relationship with Christ and show the people of the world how much he loves them. I pray that our efforts are impactful and that God works not only in us but also through us as we attempt to share his love with the people we are blessed to meet.